Tags

,

perfect pear jam

Its pear season! I’ve got an ancient pear tree in the back section of my lot, there are two fully loaded branches that hang over the fence from the neighbors pear tree, and there are about a billion (ok, maybe 5, that I know) people who are trying to pawn pears off on people. As I won’t let good produce go to waste, all pears must go to good use!

pearsLast year, when faced with counters of ripening pears, I turned to this Vanilla Pear jam recipe from Food in Jars for inspiration. After adjusting the sugar quantity and using Pamona’s Pectin, I turned out a few cases of it. This year, I’m back to being inundated with pears, and back to the Pear Vanilla jam jamboree! I’m pretty sure this is the best jam I’ve ever made! As long as I have access to pears, I will make sure to always put up a few jars. 

vanilla mixing in pectin with sugar immersion blender

boiling jam

jam jars

Pear Vanilla Jam

  • 16 cups cored and chopped thin-skinned pears (no need to peel)
  • 4 vanilla beans, split and scraped
  • 4 cups sugar
  • 5 teaspoons Pamona’s Pectin powder
  • 10 teaspoons calcium water

In a large, heavy-bottomed pot, combine pears, vanilla beans and all the bean-y goodness that was scraped out. Cook over medium heat until the fruit is soft can easily be smashed with the back of a wooden spoon. Remove the vanilla pods. Use an immersion blender to break the fruit down into a smooth sauce. Add the calcium water. In a separate bowl, thoroughly mix the pectin powder with the sugar, then stir into to fruit. Bring to a roiling boil and boil for 5 minutes.

Fill jars, leaving 1/4″ headspace, and process in boiling water canner for 10 minutes.

yield: 11 half-pint jars

If you are new to canning, make sure to checkout a reputable source for step by step instructions. The Ball website is a great source for all the basic info. 

jam mess

