the Year in Review

So today is the last day of 2012. I spent the morning getting pine needles out of the carpet, and then sat in the sun of the front parking lot cutting articles from old magazines and watching Bacon chase leaves as they blew by.

Overall, I think 2012 was a good year. We had a great spring and summer garden. We installed drip and a rain barrel. There were no apples or berries, but I did forage lots of plums. Matt and I got married in August, and then took our first trip out of the country to Belize. We got pre-approved for a home loan and started the frustrating process of house-hunting. We accepted two kitties into our home when they had none. We had lots of lazy weekend mornings, spent drinking tea and looking at the yard. I read the Hunger Games, and re-read Harry Potter and all the Little House books. I found a good chiropractor and made the connection that even black tea makes my anxiety worse. I learned how to knit, weave and card wool. Many evenings where spent on the porch with the neighbor drinking wine or shooting at possums. I made new friends and became closer to others. I cut off 12 inches of my hair, for the 3rd time, to donate.

One of my personal biggest accomplishments was simplifying my cooking. In past years, I struggled to make something new, something exciting, for every meal. Despite loving to cook, it made me anxious, stressed out and generally unhappy. So this year I decided it was OK to serve the same thing more than once a month, and its ok to not have multiple dishes for each meal.

I didn’t spend as many weekends exploring as I would have liked, probably because weekends were spent with wedding details or working in the garden. We did manage to hike in new spots: Annadel and Hood Mountain.

I look forward to new adventures in 2013.

photo collage 1 collage 2

2 thoughts on “the Year in Review

  1. Extraordinary life you live. How can you possibly top that in 2013? Cheers, Melissa. Loved your photo collage and looking forward to your posts. 🙂

Comments are closed.