New Beginnings

My husband & I, Gale, Bacon & Gaia, and the 5 hens, will be moving. On Friday, we signed the giant stack of title and loan papers, and passed off the enormous cashiers check representing all of our money, and entered the very adult and expensive experience of home ownership.

The past few days have been filled with intense dumpster diving for boxes and sorting all our worldly possessions into countless cardboard cubes. We are supposed to get our keys on Wednesday, and will be leaving our apartment in Petaluma for (hopefully) my last move ever, to our very own house in Santa Rosa.

I am sad to leave the place that has been Matt & I’s home for the past 3ish years. I have loved living on the West Side of Petaluma, downtown was only a 10 minute walk away. My neighborhood is amazing, we did things like progressive dinners and sidewalk swap events. I will miss the daily conversations had on the porch with the neighbor whom we shared a wall with, and I have enjoyed the regular parkinglot chalk drawing & playtime I shared with her kids.

I am saddened to leave my garden, which I transformed from a dead crabgrass lawn into a prolific, lush year round food supply. This was the first garden of my “very own” and, even though we knew we would eventually move, we put lots of work into it.

August 2010, July 2012
apartment: August 2010, July 2012

Yet lots of exciting things await. I have over a half acre parcel of brambles and ancient fruit trees to transform into my mini-farm, and a 1940’s house to turn into my own. And with its current external color that can only be described as 1000 Island Dressing, lots of painting to do!

a new adventure await!
a new adventure awaits!
6 thoughts on “New Beginnings

  1. Congratulations! That is awesome, fabulous news! And a half acre? I’m so jealous! Can’t wait to read about the transformation that is sure to come.

  2. You are leaving and moving to two of my favorite cities. Of course I will always hold a special place in my heart for Cotati. I was married at the Accordion Festival there 16 years ago this year. The lead singer from Polkacide married us. I’d do just about anything to move back to the area. We just cannot afford it!

Comments are closed.