Weekend’s Adventure to Still Water Cove

The past few days have been hot here. Like, high 90’s, maybe 100 degrees hot. I’m from a land with an average temperature range of 55-75, so needless to say, I’m not happy with heat (or cold). So this past weekend, Matt and I did what people have been doing for centuries, we went out to the coast to escape the heat. IMG_0393 Normally when we go out, we like to go to Shell Beach- its one of the closest beaches, free parking, and they allow dogs. Because of these desirable features, it does get busy. So, knowing that about a billion other Sonoma County residents had the same brilliant idea that we had, we opted to head north to escape the crowds. While on the drive there and consulting my Regional Parks map and my Sonoma Coast State Beaches map (I am a total map hoarder, and probably the last person who still has maps in her glovebox….), we aimed for Stillwater Cove, one of the last of the Sonoma County Regional Parks that we hadn’t visited. I didn’t know anything about it, and prior to consulting my maps, had never heard of it; but because it was a regional park, we could park for free with our pass, and we knew that dogs were allowed. IMG_0373It wasn’t close, north of Fort Ross but still south of Gualala, but the drive was lovely. Once we got past Jenner, there wasn’t many cars on the road and the weather was fabulous. Stella took her banishment to the backseat with only some protesting, and spent most of the time either looking like the saddest dog in the world because she wasn’t riding shotgun, or peering over my shoulder and moving her nose as fast as she could to absorb the new smells coming in from my window. IMG_0319   The cove has no direct parking. If headed North, you come to the park’s driveway before you see signs for the cove. Once we drove into the Regional Park, past the (as we discovered) campground into the day use area, you then walk down a lovely forested path. Once crossing Hwy One, there is another short path that brings you down to the rocky cove. IMG_0327 Other than a few other beach goers and a couple of abalone divers hauling out when we got there, the beach was pretty much empty. We spent a great time wading in the water, climbing rocks, and searching for little pebbles and shells. IMG_0329 IMG_0335 IMG_0341 IMG_0347 IMG_0356   After spending the afternoon here and absorbing the perfect weather, we headed back to the car via expanding the cove trail into a 1 mile loop though the park that followed a creek (that OMG YOU GUYS, still had water in it!!!). Unlike most of the parks and the forested lands in our area, it was only logged once in the 1880’s, so many of the large trees remain. We took a 2nd detour, albeit only a few hundred feet, and checked out the Fort Ross one-room schoolhouse but in 1885. Even in the deep shade of the trees, the temperature was fabulous, and I loved being “back at home” in the redwood forest. IMG_0380 IMG_0381 IMG_0384 IMG_0385   With the pup dog tired out, the sun moving towards the horizon, and the fog bank moving in, we headed back home. Our adventure was a success, and I found a new favorite spot. IMG_0389   As always, I love to hear from you! Leave me a comment! How was your weekend? What do you do to escape the heat?

6 thoughts on “Weekend’s Adventure to Still Water Cove

  1. The creek “still had water in it.” Of course it did!! You were in a forest! Did you not see my post on trees? Where Veritasium explained scientifically how it is that trees RELEASE water into the atmosphere so beautifully? (http://wp.me/p28k6D-1bh)

    I think I like your walk through the trees better than the beach. It makes me want to go back to Glacier National Park. A must see, if you like the Redwood forest.

    I hope you get some relief from the temps at home (rather than going to the beach to get it). Hang in there, girl. And thanks for the virtual hiking trip. 🙂

      1. Of course! (On my ALS post, there are two Drought Monitor photos: one of Texas in 2011, the other of California in 2014. Note the similarity.) What I mean to say is that BECAUSE of the trees, coupled with their proximity to the coast, there is moisture enough for the stream to exist, even during a severe drought. The world’s fresh water is tied up mostly in the atmosphere (created by trees and evaporation) and falls out in forests like that in form of dew.

  2. We’ve driven by there a bunch of times but haven’t stopped. We’ll have to next time. Oh, and I still keep paper maps. I love them!

  3. Unfortunately in Central Texas, you simply get cabin fever in the summer months because there is no escaping the heat outdoors unless you drive ~14 hours. Thank you for making me homesick for the West Coast! I miss the forests and the sea.

Comments are closed.